National Diploma: Occupationally-directed education, training and development practices

SAQA ID: 50333

Level: 5

Credits: 240

Purpose of the course

This qualification is for those who want to build on a FETC, or for those learners who have completed the National Certificate: Occupationally Directed Education, Training and Development, Level 5, to enter the field of Occupationally Directed Education, Training and Development as a potential career, and have little or no previous exposure to Education, Training and Development (ETD). The qualification will also be valuable for those who may have been practising within the field, but without formal recognition. In particular, the Diploma will be useful for:

  • Needs analysts.

  • Learning facilitators.

  • Learning designers.

  • Assessors.

  • Learner and learning supporters.

  • Skills Development Facilitators.

  • Standards Writers and Qualification Designers.

  • Education, Training and Development (ETD) Managers.

This course will enable you to:

The qualification addresses general competences across eight key ETD roles, and provides an opportunity for learners to specialise in four key areas in line with possible career opportunities or areas of interest. Recipients will thus meet the general requirements of the following key roles, with the opportunity to specialise in four of the roles:

  • Design and develop learning programmes and processes;

  • Facilitate and evaluate learning;

  • Engage in and promote assessment practices;

  • Provide learning support to learners and organisations;

  • Conduct skills development facilitation;

  • Develop standards and qualifications;

  • Manage and administer education training and development;

  • Engage in general management activities.

Course rationale:

Education, Training and Development (ETD) is a priority area within the South African context and is supported by legislation, national policies and strategies. In order to meet the ETD requirements of the workplace, within the context of a quality assured environment and processes, it is important to be able to identify and recognise competent ETD practitioners at various levels. In particular, all training fields require the services of those ETD practitioners who not only have a broad understanding and skills across all ETD roles, but with deeper skills in relation to a selection of several key ETD roles. Such practitioners will be able to provide leadership and management in relation to ETD practices, while providing specialist skills in key areas.

A survey of the needs of the field yielded overwhelming support for the opportunity for practitioners to be able to select their four specialisations from the full range, without prescribing any one particular role beyond the general component of each role. This means, for example, that not all facilitators need necessarily specialise in design and development and vice versa, but can concentrate on facilitation, assessment, learner support and skills development facilitation. In this way, learners can tailor their specialisations in combination that meet their needs and those of their organisation. Thus the key strength of this qualification is in the choices that learners can make. The Diploma is significantly different from the level 5 Certificate in that the diploma extends the Core component from five ETD roles to eight ETD roles, and requires specialisation in four key roles, whereas the certificate only requires one specialisation. This qualification thus directly meets the needs of the field by providing learners who are competent in the general aspects of eight ETD roles, and with specialist skills in at least four roles.

This qualification will contribute towards the promotion of well designed and implemented outcomes-based approaches to learning design, facilitation and assessment, within the context of a quality assured system.

Learning assumed to be in place and recognition of prior learning

It is assumed that practitioners have expertise in the subject/occupation field in which they intend to provide education, training and development, at a level required to engage meaningfully in ETD within that field.

It is also assumed that learners working towards this qualification hold a FETC or equivalent. Further learning assumptions are specified within the associated unit standards where required.

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL):

This qualification can be achieved wholly or in part through recognition of prior learning in terms of the defined exit level outcomes and/or individual unit standards.

Evidence can be presented in various ways, including international and/or previous local qualifications, products, reports, testimonials mentioning functions performed, work records, portfolios, videos of practice and performance records.

All such evidence will be judged in accordance with the general principles of assessment and the requirements for integrated assessment.

Qualification rules


Learners are required to achieve all 20 credits for Communications.


Learners are required to achieve all 86 core credits.


Learners are required to achieve 134 of the possible 222 elective credits, selected in line with possible career opportunities and areas of interest.

The facilitator used world class techniques and the presentation was top class
Student course feedback